Cerita · Inspirasi

The Empty Attic

 

That any civilized human being in this nineteenth century should not be aware that the earth travelled round the sun appeared to be to me such an extraordinary fact that I could hardly realize it.

“You appear to be astonished,” he said, smiling at my expression of surprise. “Now that I do know it I shall do my best to forget it.”

“To forget it!”

“You see,” he explained, “I consider that a man’s brain originally is like a little empty attic, and you have to stock it with such furniture as you choose…”

“But the Solar System!” I protested.

“What the deuce is it to me?” he interrupted impatiently; “you say that we go round the sun. If we went round the moon it would not make a pennyworth of difference to me or to my work.”

They’re Sherlock and Doctor Watson in Study in Scarlet (1887). One of my favorite dialogues between them. Sherlock always try to control his brain to keep only the useful information. That’s why his knowledge is limited and only related for his job. It makes him very professional in his field.

And so I do. Try to control my “empty attic”. I had filtered some of information. Reading the article or news which is I need. Watching tv channels which can give me good effects.

Even for the entertainment, I do choose the reasonable. Some of our tv channels are suck. Their shows are ridiculous. Making absurd jokes.

That’s a reason why I don’t have my own TV. I prefer to download the movie or TV series. Usually, I watch Spongebob Squarepants or some top of TV series such as Silicon Valley, Game of Thrones, etc. And right now, “Top Gear” is back with a new brand, Amazon’s The Grand Tour.

Sometimes I save offline videos about engineering or latest technologies on YouTube in my phone. But usually, My offline vidoes is dominated by lecturing of  Islam and Sunnah.

For the readings, I usually read comics. Marvel and some DC. When not too bored, I read the non-fictional books. After finished Martin Ling’s Muhammad, Ashlee Vance’s Elon Musk and Hugh Kennedy’s The Arab Conquests are my top list.

It’s very important to choose your own “furnitures”. You are what You read. And for me, not only “what you read” but “what you watch”. Choose the “furnitures” which can give us good effects. Relating with our job and purpose for the better life.

You are what You read

Leave a Reply

